Caledoniyya

Best of the Rest: I’m an Egyptian Woman and I Like Being Sexually Harrassed

A remarkable post by Desk Girl on sexual harassment in Cairo:

I wake up every morning looking forward to getting sexually harassed in Cairo. Because a day gone by without being whistled at like cattle or groped like a melon at a vegetable store is a day unlived in this city. Right?

I even dress according to how often I’d like to get harassed that day. Tight white t-shirt? That’s the number one sign that I’m asking for it. Skinny jeans are obviously worn to highlight my butt so men know what to grab (some short-sighted idiots completely miss and grab my hip instead, which is just plain insulting).

And since I don’t cover my hair, then obviously I know what shit I’m getting myself into by walking on the streets of the city I call home as an equal citizen to the men that lurk on corners, outside shops, dangling from microbuses, waiting happily.

And I think it’s safe to say she speaks for all women, in Egypt and beyond.

Read the full post in all its spot-on glory, here.

2 comments on “Best of the Rest: I’m an Egyptian Woman and I Like Being Sexually Harrassed

  1. kinziblogs
    June 22, 2011

    Groped like a melon. By jove, she’s got it.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 22, 2011 by in Egypt and tagged , , , , , .
