Caledoniyya

A Belated Bit of Gil Scott-Heron

This is very overdue: an ode to the late, great Gil Scott-Heron:

I must concede that I am more au fait with his poetry and recent work – in itself mind-blowing.

Not just musically gifted, he had cojones when it came to Palestine/Israel too, cancelling a sell-out gig in Tel Aviv on the basis that no war is justified.

He was the voice of the revolution.

He still is.

6 comments on “A Belated Bit of Gil Scott-Heron

  1. bambam
    June 2, 2011

    Damn…. I was about to correct you about him not being so late only to Google it and realize that he died last week… btw… his recent work is lovely, but musically not challenging but having been remixed by jamie XX in the album We’re here now brings it to completely different hemisphere of sophistication.

    • Layla
      June 2, 2011

      Bambam, you encapsulated everything I wanted to say and more – you are utterly right 😀

  2. Pingback: What I learned from my dad and Gil Scott-Heron | pretty smart chic

  3. phillegitimate
    June 29, 2011

    I’ve just recently discovered the wonders of Gil Scott-Heron. I thought I could claim responsibility for this, but it turns out I saw him here first. I’m not sure if I’m a philistine for liking the Jamie xxmixes so much, but either way he really is wonderful.

    And thanks again for sharing….

    • Layla
      June 29, 2011

      I must concede I heard the contemporary tracks first… and prefer them – they are somehow dark, yet inspiring.

      • phillegitimate
        July 1, 2011

        ‘Dark but inspiring’ is basically all I look for in music. Nicely put. ‘NY is killing me’ may become my theme song for the next year and half (assuming I’m ever granted a student visa)…

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 2, 2011 by in Americas, Palestine, Pop culture and tagged , , , , , , .
