Caledoniyya

Bewitching Araby

Browsing in the library I struck upon Heart-Beguiling Araby: The English Romance with Arabia (I.B. Tauris, 1989) by Kathryn Tidrick.

One of the books to file under “oh-if-I-had-time-I-so-would!”, I fell in love with the opening quote:

Despite bearing negative connotations, I cannot help but find a beauty in the writer’s hidden efforts to resist.

He affects a disdain, but the sense that he is drawn nonetheless is tangible.

From 1949 to 2011, the bewitching quality of the Middle East has lost none of its allure.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 7, 2011 by in Bookwormery, Frivolities & Miscellaeny, Middle East and tagged , , , , , , .
