Caledoniyya

The Sweetest Insult

Courtesy of Oscar Wilde, Lord of the Put-downs:

He is some brainless beautiful creature who should be always here in winter when we have no flowers to look at, and always here in summer when we want something to chill our intelligence.

Taken from The Picture of Dorian Gray.

This is my second reading of the book and I cannot fail to be struck by the intricate genius of Wilde.

Every word a gem, each sentence a wonder and every page literary majesty.

One of the greats, if not the best.

5 comments on “The Sweetest Insult

  1. haitham
    February 7, 2011

    Not a big biiig fan (oppppppps) but on my list for reviewing πŸ™‚

    H.

    • Layla
      February 7, 2011

      No way! Explain, Haitham πŸ˜›

  2. Haitham Al-Sheeshany
    February 8, 2011

    lol
    I won`t!

    I`ll just say: “I got it “printed it out y-day” and soooooon starting to dig into it)
    if it`s no good…. I`m hunting u down :Pp

    • Layla
      February 8, 2011

      Hahaha! It’ll be awesome and you’ll be hunting me down to thank me for introducing someone as wonderful as Oscar Wilde into your life πŸ˜€

  3. Haitham Al-Sheeshany
    April 13, 2011

    hello,
    I`m in the last chapter! It moved/still moving me in more ways than one!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 6, 2011 by in Bookwormery, Culture, Europe, Frivolities & Miscellaeny, Pop culture and tagged , , .
