Caledoniyya

Wife-tracker, Saudi-style

As Saudiwoman notes, you can run, but you can never hide when it comes to gender-based tracking in (and out of) Saudi Arabia:

I am currently on a family vacation in Italy but I had to post what the Ministry of Foreign Affairs sent my husband. Apparently they have a new service where they send the male guardian a text every time a β€œdependent” leaves the country. They don’t state which country the dependent left for but simply state that they did leave.

My husband tells me he got the same text when I left for Germany. I am an adult woman that has been earning my own income for over a decade now but according to the Saudi government, I am a dependent till the day I die because of my gender. [Source]

It is interesting that the tracking text does not detail the destination country – it would be too optimistic to imagine that it is concealed in the name of privacy.

No doubt coming soon: the Google App Wife Tracker: a dastardly fusion of Google Street Maps meets patriarchal yearnings to seek, control and curtail the freedom of every woman over the age of 18.

One comment on “Wife-tracker, Saudi-style

  1. Haitham Al-Sheeshany
    July 25, 2010

    Only is KSA! πŸ™‚ + 😦

    H.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 25, 2010 by in Gizmos, Middle East, Womyn and tagged , , , .
