Caledoniyya

Love the Song, Hate the Video

And vice versa, often.

For example, I was not particularly enamoured by Lady GaGa’s Bad Romance, until I viewed it on Natalia’s site.

The video is so utterly diverting that I cannot help but hear the song in a different way, an utterly awesome way.

In sum, I highly recommend it.

In contrast, the following song by Italian singers Elisa and Giuliano Sangiorgi of the band Negramaro is much adored, but the video stinks.

Perhaps I am passing too much time on Radio Italia, but while my professed musical tastes endeavour to be worldly and awesome (Tinariwen, anyone?), my taste in Greek, Arabic and especially Italian music would make a grown man cry.

Eros Ramazzotti was my first love.

I have all his albums, and yes, I do flush a little with embarrassment at that fact.

But I defy anyone to hear Fuoco nel Fuoco and remain unmoved.

It is delicious, heart-quickeningly pop-esque and addictive.

Nevertheless, videos matter and in the case of Ti Vorrei Sollevare, let us open a new tab, browse some trivia and enjoy the song sans heinous visualization.

13 comments on “Love the Song, Hate the Video

  1. thelocalguide
    November 13, 2009

    nice post.

    And even when the videos are bad they probably were very expensive. Something is wrong with the music business.

    • Layla
      November 13, 2009

      I know. That, and the world of football, too. The figures are simply staggering. But in Lady Gaga’s case, it’s almost worth it πŸ™‚

      • Karen
        November 13, 2009

        I found some leaked Lady Gaga videos!

        You can watch it here

        http://leerdo.com/streams/tv-shows/tv01295.html

      • sauerkraut
        November 16, 2009

        I hate it when spammers offer supposedly secret lady gaga vids but require release of personal info and a download to view what’s already in the public domain.

        Plus, lady gaga makes me gag. She’s neither half the talent nor half the cleavage of Lil Kim.

  2. sitting pugs
    November 13, 2009

    I know exactly what you mean by good songs, mediocre/lousy videos. Whether it’s because the video lacks cohesive vision or is clearly green-screen-city (with two or three costume changes if one is lucky), or the artist didn’t have time to make a narrative video, I think I would take an uninspired concept video to a montage of concert footage.

    Let the fans make those kinds of fanvids. ^I^

    The opposite is true as well, awesome video makes a forgettable song memorable. I’m a much bigger than of this scenario.

  3. Pretty Project
    November 13, 2009

    Wow, that was heinous. πŸ™‚

    http://www.theprettyproject.com

  4. Rebecca
    November 14, 2009

    I felt exactly the same about Bad Romance! I really can’t stand Lady Gaga’s voice, but I keep going back and watching the video…

    • Layla
      November 14, 2009

      I’m divided on her voice: sometimes it is so irksome and rough, yet at others it is almost beautiful. The ‘Ra-ra-ra’ bit, it goes without saying, certainly falls into the former category… πŸ˜‰

      • mgast94
        November 15, 2009

        i love Lady Gaga no matter what anyone says

  5. dhruv
    November 15, 2009

    hi this is cool

  6. sam francis
    November 16, 2009

    I think Lady Gaga is the Madonna of the 21st century. Madonna was shocking and all the rest when she first started to make a buzz in the 80s. But look at “like a virgin” today, just like kids may look at “bad romance” 20 years from now. Although you have to wonder how much weirder/colorful a music video can get, while still using humans as actors. I love the video though and most of her vids. The production is better than what most movies are turning out.

  7. sauerkraut
    November 16, 2009

    If there’s nothing to tell with the video, why do it? Too many bands do headshot vids that convey no message. What a waste. …

  8. SpeakBindas
    November 16, 2009

    I love the voice for sure.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 13, 2009 by in Culture, Europe, Frivolities & Miscellaeny, Layla, Pop culture and tagged , , , , , , , .
