Caledoniyya

Best of the Rest: I’m Changing My Sex

A splendidly novel initiative launched by the dynamic Bekhsoos team:

Hello! You’ve probably noticed that I’ve changed my sex on Facebook. Were you surprised? Annoyed? Intrigued? Disgusted? Outraged? Did you think it was a joke? Did you perhaps think it was a mistake?

Actually, I’m glad you asked. Today is the international day of action for sexual and bodily rights across Muslim societies: “One Day, One Struggle.” To mark the occasion, I’ve changed my sex on Facebook to raise awareness around challenges facing transgender people everywhere in the world. And I’m going to keep it that way till November 20, the Transgender Day of Remembrance. […]

My friends, there is a lot of awareness we need to raise about transgender issues. We need to break the silences and the misconceptions – starting from the ones in our own selves.

So I ask you to join me by doing the same on your Facebook. If you feel too scared about what people will say, then you can understand – if only for some fleeting seconds – what transgenders have to go through their entire lives. So please, take the bold step and stand up for a community who continue to suffer among us every day.

To find out more, click here.

Because ultimately, that’s all it takes: one click to show solidarity.

Yalla, what are you waiting for?

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 9, 2009 by in Africa, Americas, Asia, Best of the Rest, Culture, Europe, Middle East and tagged , , , , .
