Caledoniyya

This Is Israel

As the title suggests, this is Israel.

This is ‘democracy’ in action:

Palestinian student handcuffed, blindfolded and expelled to Gaza

A Palestinian student at Bethlehem University was forcibly expelled to Gaza this week after Israeli soldiers at a checkpoint in the West Bank noticed that her registered address was in the Gaza Strip.1256971681

According to the International Middle East Media Centre, Berlanty Azzam, 21, was told she would not be removed before being allowed to challenge the decision in court. But no court date was set, and Azzam was instead handcuffed, blindfolded and transferred to Gaza in the middle of the night.

Despite having lived in Bethlehem since 2005 and being just two months away from graduating from her business degree, Azzam has been told she will not be allowed to return. [Source]

2 comments on “This Is Israel

  1. defpunk
    November 4, 2009

    It’s shocking how not one day passes without reports similar to this one, it’s sick what they’re doing to the Palestinians. I was especially appalled to read of their building that dam that diverted all the water to Israel and left Jordan with a dirty little stream. And of course, it’s O.K. for all the world to hurl the most degrading remarks at Palestinians and / or Arabs and Arab culture, but *dare* we utter even only one word of criticism on Israel, then we’re hopeless anti-semites.

    I read just today on a news website I like to visit that about a year ago, the Mossad bombed an alleged ‘nuclear facility’ in Syria. I think the Syrians should get their own back by by attempting to shut down Israel’s own nuclear bomb arsenals.
    That’s if the facility they bombed even had anything to do with material contained in nuclear bombs, I’m thinking not seeing Israel’s standard excuse for bombing places always seems to be ‘we thought it was a storage facility for nuclear material’ etc. it’s getting old. =(

    I also think it’s revolting how people love to pick apart the Koran and quote the ‘nasty things the prophet said’, while totally ignoring the evil defamatory stuff contained within the non-abridged version of the Talmud.

    I like to think I support peace efforts between Israel and Palestine, though on bad days I’m wondering if the Israelis even deserve peace after all the evil sh!t they’ve done.

    But what do I know, I’m just a silly little gentile. ;-]

    By the way, I hope you won’t mind if I link up to your blog, I hope I can get you some traffic, more people need to read this, and I think your blog rocks!

    • Layla
      November 4, 2009

      Wow, defpunk, if I had to have a favourite reader it would be you!

      Your insights are wonderful and deserve a whole post of their own; the comments section does them no justice 🙂

      Otherwise, link away – I highly recommend your blog, too 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 2, 2009 by in Conflict Zones, Israel, Middle East, Palestine and tagged , , .
