Caledoniyya

Galloway Strikes Back With Haniya Veneration

I confess: George Galloway generates more goosebumps on my arms from atop of his soapbox than a freshly plucked turkey on Christmas morning.

Certainly, the after-shudder of his Big Brother antics triggered a modicum of revulsion, but upon hearing his speeches on Palestine I can only conclude that the man is simply incredible.image-by-tgkw-via-flickr

Whether it is the Scots burr, passion for Palestine, or general charismatic gusto that he infuses his campaigns with, I cannot but help nod along to every expostulation.

If he climbed upon a stage and expounded the vices of Nutella, Stilton, and Pepsi Max, I would quite possibly throw my hands aloft and exclaim in agreement.

Which is why, while certain media research outlets are caterwauling in disdain at Galloway’s latest jaunt on al-Jazeera and al-Aqsa TV, I merely snicker and goosebump away:

We know that in the face of this enormous crisis which you face, our assistance is small, but it’s from our hearts and from the hearts of the communities from which we come. Our convoy itself is small, but now we ask every country in the world to make a convoy, to come to Gaza, and to break this murderous siege.

Just in case the British government or the European Union want to face me in any court, let me tell them live on television: I personally am about to break the sanctions on the elected government of Palestine. […] If I could, I would give them 10 times, 100 times more. We are against this siege. We are opposing this siege. We are breaking this siege. 

I am saying now to the British and European governments: If you want to take me to court, I promise you, there is no jury in all of Britain who will convict me. They will convict you for the siege of the Palestinian people. Revolution until victory! Viva viva, Palestine!

And my personal favourite:

Imagine Tony Blair as a peace envoy. Not since Caligula appointed his horse as a consul of Rome has there been a more inappropriate appointment than Tony Blair as the peace envoy for the Middle East.

On a more serious note, while he certainly has cojones it seems he is accessorizing with rose-tinted spectacles.

His underlying message is admirable: defy the sanctions to sustain humanitarian aid; nevertheless, the accompanying veneration of Ismail Haniya rankles overly.

Too much contestation surrounds the full legitimacy of Haniya’s government, not to mention the issues concerning women’s rights in Gaza of late.

Undoubtedly, Galloway is on the right track; here’s hoping he does not stumble too far down a blinkered alley to sustain the kernel of humanity that has been so captivating.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 25, 2009 by in Conflict Zones, Israel, Middle East, Palestine, Politics and tagged , , , , .
