Caledoniyya

PhotoHunt 150: Warm

This week’s PhotoHunt theme has a tangible element, in the form of a pile of Scotch Bonnets:

peppers

Rated five on the burn scale, Scotch Bonnets derive their name from their similar appearance to the Tam o’Shanter.

To put their potency into chili perspective, if jalapeño peppers score 2,500 – 8,000 on the official chili scale of Scoville Units, then Scotch Bonnets notch up a massive 100,000 – 350,000 Units.

Personally, I go through phases with chilies: for months I will sneak them into every dish, from falafel to pasta and sandwiches; for other stretches I will abhor them and cringe at the mere thought.

Nevertheless, with the cold season once more rearing its ugly head, chilies could become the latest necessity as they hold immunity boosting properties.

7 comments on “PhotoHunt 150: Warm

  1. saint3
    February 21, 2009

    I hope they r sweet and juicy!

  2. Ordinary Biscuit
    February 21, 2009

    I love spices myself and I find them warming my body every time I eat them. Nice post

  3. Kim
    February 21, 2009

    Ooh, good take on this week’s theme!

  4. Chris
    February 21, 2009

    You are taking “warm” all the way to “hot”!

  5. sassy mom
    February 21, 2009

    That’s a cool shot. Nice take for this week’s theme. Have a great weekend!

  6. Maureen
    February 21, 2009

    I wasn’t so creative with the theme this week, but I love that you were! I also learned that I don’t ever want to try a scotch bonnet, as I don’t do hot food well.

    Mine is up at:

    http://beingchronicallyillisapill.blogspot.com/2009/02/saturday-photo-hunt-warm-150.html

    Happy Photo Hunt!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 21, 2009 by in Europe, Frivolities & Miscellaeny, Imagery and tagged , , , .
