Caledoniyya

PhotoHunt 145: Hat(s)

After a brief hiatus, PhotoHunt is back on Caledoniyya on the subject of hat(s).

Hats are sadly unappreciated in today’s society – I cannot help but imagine how much more amiable it would be if we returned to headgear, men with their bowlers (doffing them as they stroll down the cobbled streets, full-size umbrellas tucked under the arm optional) and women exploiting the wide and outstanding array currently littering the shops.

Moving swiftly from the Saturday morning Wodehouse-ian reverie to today’s subject, the bearer of perhaps the most instantly recognizable head-ornament in British history, Horatio Nelson:

nelson

Taken in London, by the Thames, at sundown.

7 comments on “PhotoHunt 145: Hat(s)

  1. saint3
    January 17, 2009

    wow. a true original employing the classic silhoulette!

  2. Lynn
    January 17, 2009

    Nice take. Love the drama silhouettes give to a picture.

  3. JyLnC
    January 17, 2009

    This is the first silhouette I’ve seen on Photo Hunt today. Great photo – the pink in the sky is so delicate.

    Stop by and see my photo hunt if you have time.
    JyLnC – Hats

  4. Hootin' Anni
    January 17, 2009

    At first, I guess Napoleon. Dang….well, I was close. [Love this photo!!!]

    I’m not a hat person, but I found ‘hats’ around our home that will work for the hunt. Come on over if you can. I would love to have your company.

  5. Tarheel Rambler
    January 17, 2009

    This is a great image and I like everything about it. The sillouhette sparks the imagination and the viewer is almost compelled to construct a story to go with the scene. Excellent contribution to this week’s theme!

    By the way, over at my blog I’m starting a new photo-meme for Sundays based on my Sunday Scenery posts. The details can be found on the Sunday Scenery Photo Meme page on my blog. I hope you’ll consider joining the fun.

  6. Meta Opinion
    January 17, 2009

    That is so lovely pictures, keep it up and check out also mine! Enjoy your weekend TC 🙂

  7. Mrs. Mecomber
    January 17, 2009

    I knew who that was before I read it! What a terrific photo! And I agree– I’d like to see a comeback to hats as part of common clothing. I think it made us more civil, more considerate.

    I did Photo Hunters today, too! Hope you get a chance to visit.

    http://newyorktraveler.net/photo-hunters-hats/

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 17, 2009 by in Europe, Frivolities & Miscellaeny, Imagery and tagged , , , .
