Caledoniyya

Fairouzitis

I’m a sucker for guilty-pleasure TV – Gossip Girl, Medium, even Men In Trees regaled for an addictive few weeks.

In one episode of Medium, the main protagonist, Allison, is plagued by the song “I Will Survive” by Gloria Gaynor.

Whether it is driving to the shops, cooking, working, or sleeping, the song is continuously on loop, indefinitely.

For the past 72 hours (and counting) I have been afflicted by an acute case of Fairouzitis, insofar as I cannot get the song Habaytak Ta Nsit el Nawm out of my head.

Initially played on Thursday as a tonic – Fairouz in unbeatable when it comes to curing general under-the-weatherness – I cannot get it out of my head.

It is glued, jammed, embedded with UHU and cement, possibly.

I cannot sleep for hours as the bars chime on.

It is musical tinnitus.

I suppose it could be worse – it could be Bous al Wawa – but still, my nerves are starting to fray, and a song I love is about to be erased irrevocably from my computer…

2 comments on “Fairouzitis

  1. Hani Obaid
    January 11, 2009

    ok so this is an attempt to get rid of the curse by spreading it? 🙂

    Luckily it seems I’m immune although I love Fairuz. Who deosn’t?

  2. laylatoot
    January 12, 2009

    Haha! Yes – why should I endure it alone?! Actually, the post must have exorcised the song away, and I think that particular album shall be avoided for the coming weeks! 😀

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 11, 2009 by in Frivolities & Miscellaeny, Lebanon, Middle East and tagged , , .
